Medical Education Faculty, Resident and Staff Awards
Dear School of Medicine Community,

The success of any medical school depends on the dedication of its faculty, residents and staff to the pursuit of teaching. Over the past few months, we have seen this dedication manifest in new ways as UCI has adapted to the unexpected challenges of the day. We would like to thank all our faculty, residents and medical education staff for their unwavering commitment to the professional development of our medical students. 

Each year, we host the School of Medicine Achievement Awards to honor excellence in teaching among our medical education faculty, residents and staff. This excellence is especially crucial as we educate a new generation of doctors entering the medical profession at such a critical time. Though we were unable to host the awards ceremony in person this year, we are excited to highlight the 2020 award recipients today. 

Please join us in congratulating the outstanding individuals listed below and thanking them for their hard work and commitment to our students!


Michael Stamos, MD
Dean, School of Medicine

Khanh-Van Le-Bucklin, MD, MEd
Vice Dean, Medical Education

Achievement Award Recipients

The Sterling Staph Award
Presented by the students to a resident in recognition of their excellence in teaching
Alice Sherman-Brown, MD
Obstetrics and Gynecology

Blake Zwerling, MD
Obstetrics and Gynecology

The Golden Apple Award
Awarded to a clinical faculty member for outstanding teaching
Samuel Lai, MD
Internal Medicine

Andrew Siskind, MD
Internal Medicine

Robert Bristow, MD
Obstetrics and Gynecology

Varalakshmi Reddy, MD

The Silver Beaker Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Basic Science Faculty Member
Presented to a basic science faculty member for excellence in teaching, as voted by the MS1 and MS2 classes
Robert Edwards, MD, PhD

AMSG Excellence in Teaching
Presented to a course for excellence in teaching, as voted by the student body
MS1: Anatomy and Embryology
MS2: Medical Pharmacology
MS3: Internal Medicine

UC Irvine Humanism in Medicine Faculty Award
This award recognizes the faculty member who, each year, is nominated by the students to be the UCI candidate for the National Association of American Medical Colleges, organization of Student Representatives Faculty Humanist Award
Candice Taylor-Lucas, MD

AMSG Service Award - Bob Hammer Staff of the Year
Award presented to staff as voted by the Associated Medical Student Government as giving outstanding service to the entire student body
Nancy Guirguis
Student Affairs 

Medial Education Excellence in Teaching
Certificate given to faculty who are recognized for outstanding student evaluations and contributions to a course/clerkship

Basic Science Lecturer
Robert Edwards, MD, PhD 
Pathology & Laboratory Medicine (Histology and Pathology courses)

Kenneth Longmuir, PhD
Physiology & Biophysics (Physiology course)

Selma Masri, PhD
Biological Chemistry (Biological Chemistry course)
Dean’s Scholar/Clinical Foundations
Alisa Wray, MD
Emergency Medicine (Clinical Foundations course)
Clinical Science Attending/Resident
Tan Nguyen, MD
Family Medicine
Betzy Salcedo, MD
Family Medicine

Nagmine Masaki, MD
Clinical Science Lecturer
Mohammad Helmy, MD 
Radiological Sciences

Areg Grigorian, MD 

Sara Stern-Nezer, MD 

Medical Education Outstanding Leadership Award
Award granted by the Office of Medical Education to a faculty member for outstanding leadership in medical education
Warren Wiechmann, MD, MBA
Emergency Medicine

Medical Education Faculty Service Award
Award presented by the Office of Medical Education to a faculty member in appreciation of outstanding service in medical education
Ariana Nelson, MD

Medical Education Staff Service Award
Award presented by the Office of Medical Education to staff in appreciation of outstanding service in medical education
Charlotte Fesko
Clinical Skills Center

Medical Education Department Chair Award
Award granted to a department chair or division chief who has promoted student development and exemplifies the spirit of medical education
J. Christian Fox, MD
Emergency Medicine

*Award winners will be contacted individually to pick up certificates